Who we are

Victoria Hall in Cobourg was threatened with demolition in 1971. Fortunately, the building was saved and a major restoration was completed in 1983. Victoria Hall is recognized as a National Historic Site.

The Victoria Hall Volunteers (originally the Volunteer Women’s Committee of Victoria Hall) was formed in 1975 to help with the fundraising during the restoration and raised $50,000.  Since the completion of the restoration we have continued on as a registered charitable organization dedicated to the preservation and enhancement of the heritage and historical aspects of Victoria Hall. We achieve this mandate through advocacy, activities, tours, education and fundraising events.

We are a group who meet at 7:00 pm. on the fourth Wednesday of each month in the Citizens’ Forum, Victoria Hall. We welcome new members.

For more information on the history of Victoria Hall, visit: Ontario Heritage Trust

What we do

Victoria Hall Volunteers host tours, wine tastings, shows, speakers, dinners and other activities which are fun to plan and form the basis of our fundraising. Each event is created and produced by Victoria Hall Volunteers, often with the help of partners in the community. Our events have the reputation of being exceptional and enjoyable for guests and volunteers alike. We participate in public events such as Ontario Doors Open. To celebrate the 150th anniversary of the official opening of Victoria Hall, the Victoria Hall Volunteers hosted a Grand Ball in May, 2010.

With the funds we raise, we have been able to contribute substantially to the restoration of Victoria Hall’s Clock Tower. For the Concert Hall our gifts include two superb pianos, electronic blinds for the 22 windows, concert seating and banquet chairs. A new floor and lighting system in the Art Gallery of Northumberland, located on the third floor, have improved the visitor experience. These are a few examples of our contributions. In all, Victoria Hall Volunteers have raised more than $350,000.

Officers 2024

President Donna Londry
Past President Diane Chin
Vice President Carolyn Allen
Secretary Barbara Tait
Treasurer Sarah Holland